Horse of the Year Show 2012 Top Jockeys confirmed to compete

Horse of the Year Show 2012 Top Jockeys confirmed to compete

Thursday, September 20th, 2012

Four top jockeys have been confirmed to compete at Horse of the Year Show (HOYS), “The World’s Most Famous Horse Show” in the Osborne Refrigerators Celebrity Hurry Scurry, a novelty class held on Sunday 7th October at Birmingham’s NEC.

A firm crowd-favourite, the class helps to celebrate the end of the week’s competition at Horse of the Year Show. It is a timed relay involving seven teams of scurry ponies and drivers – following the conclusion of the Osborne Refrigerators Double Harness Scurry Championship on Saturday night – alongside show jumpers and invited jockeys.

The four confirmed jockeys so far are: six-time British Champion jockey Kieren Fallon, Classic winning jockey Eddie Ahern, rising star Jack Mitchell and leading female jockey Kirsty Milczarek. Before starting her racing career, Kirsty was a successful show jumper, competing a string of 20 horses for various owners. Now based in Newmarket, she was introduced to the world of racing through her brother, jockey Jonjo Milczarek.

The Osborne Refrigerators Celebrity Hurry Scurry is a fast-paced competition, in which the show jumper jumps a short course and then hands the baton to the jockey who jumps another, slightly smaller, course. He then mounts the scurry vehicle and acts as groom to the scurry driver through a course of cones. The fastest time wins, but competitors must avoid penalties of three seconds added for each fence knocked down or each ball dislodged from a cone.

Last year’s winners were Olympic team show jumping gold medallist Scott Brash, scurry driver Alison Millman and 2008 Grand National winning-jockey Timmy Murphy.

Alongside this exciting class, Sunday’s gala night performance will offer a host of entertainment and top class finals, finishing with the biggest and best finale to date. Brian Blessed will read the famous Ode to the Horse, while “Britain’s Got Talent” sensations Only Boys Aloud will also perform. A special parade of champions will see Olympic riders and notable equines, including 2012 Grand National winner, Neptune Collenges.

Helena Pettit of Grandstand Media Ltd, organiser of Horse of the Year Show, commented: “The Osborne Refrigerators Celebrity Hurry Scurry is a real crowd-favourite and we’re delighted to have such famous faces in the racing world joining us this year. Their attendance, alongside some of the Team GB Olympic riders parading in the finale and a host of celebrities visiting the show, will make this a truly star-studded evening.”